Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #1)

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Childrenmiss peregrine 1: Ransom Riggs

Genre: Fiction, Fantasy, Photography, sci-fi

Thoughts: This book was definitely a change from my usual readings. Normally, I like a fiction book with a bit of magic, and mystery, but this book was, well, peculiar. That’s not to say I didn’t like it though. It was one of those books that once you pick it up, you can’t put down. Let me set the scene. You’re working your part time job, as you usually do and get a strange call from your grandfather. Now, your grandfather does have crazy fits sometimes, but you think it’s just from fighting in World War Two. Little did you know what you would find when you go and check up on him. Dead in the woods near his house. In his last breath he rambles on about a bird in a loop on the island. This starts a whole chain of events that eventually leads to Jacob, the main character, investigating an old orphanage.

“I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.” ― Ransom Riggs, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

When I first was recommended this book, I looked at the cover and didn’t really like it. I am one to judge a book by its cover, even though I shouldn’t. Then another friend of mine read it, and loved it, so I borrowed it out. And I should’ve done it earlier! I really liked it. The mixture of photography in the fiction made it all the more interesting. In the story, there are photographs found in Jacob’s house and in the old orphanage, and every time one is mentioned, the author puts the actual image after it. This gives you a good picture of what the characters are like and what special abilities they have. I especially look forward to images, and actually have to stop myself from looking forward in the book before I’m finished reading the description.

“Because we weren’t like other people. We were peculiar.”

“Peculiar how?”

“Oh, all sorts of ways,” he said. “There was a girl who could fly, a boy who had bees living inside him, a brother and sister who could lift boulders over their heads.” ― Ransom Riggs, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Another feature I liked about this book were the characters and plot-line. The storyline of this book is quite complicated, using a type of time travel loop thing, where a person has to walk through the loop and they come back in another time. Then at the end of each day, the loop is reset, so the characters experience the same day every day. September third 1940. This comes to be an important date in the book. When I first opened the book and was introduced to the time loop, I don’t think I was concentrating on the story as well as I could have, meaning I was very confused. When I reached the next part of the book that mentioned the time loop, I had to go back and read what it was. This was one of the only things that I didn’t like about the story. I also liked most of the characters. As they were in the time loop, most of the children are over 50 years old, some over 100. And because of this, some of them use different English or grammar, and some act a little strangely. I also found this feature interesting. Really, this book was quite good, but definitely not my favourite.

“I don’t mean to be rude’ I said, ‘but what are you people?’

‘We’re peculiar,’ he replied, sounding a bit puzzled. ‘Aren’t you?;

‘I don’t know. I don’t think so’

‘That’s a shame.” ― Ransom Riggs, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Why should you read it: This book is definitely unique, so if you want to read something different, this is the book for you. It mixes photography, young adult fiction, fantasy and even a bit of sci-fi. If you liked Julie Kagawa’s Blood of Eden series, you might like this. Also, there is a bit of mystery and creepiness in the story.

Book in a word: Unique (Peculiar)

Rating: 8½/10

2 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #1)

Leave a Reply

