Crown of Midnight – Sarah J Maas (Throne of Glass Series)

Title: Crown of Midnight

Author: Sarah J Maascrownofmidnight

Genre: Fantasy, young adult, Fae, magic, adventure

Thoughts: Now when I first got my hands on Crown of Midnight, I was super excited. I couldn’t wait to start, and I had been eyeing it off at the bookstore for quite some time. But, to tell the truth, I was slightly disappointed. The quality of the writing isn’t as good as the first. Maybe it’s because I was so impressed by Throne of Glass, and I expected this book to be amazing, but it just wasn’t as good. I didn’t get into it as much.

Saying that, it is still a great read, and when I started getting a little more into it, near the middle of the book, drama and tragedy strike. Now I was starting to get hooked. From the very start, it leaves an open end, and you’re left to assume, but it soon becomes clear. This book has more mystery, like the first book, and even made me tear up a little. Still, this book is one of my favourites, with the main character, Celaena Sardothien, meeting new friends (or are they enemies), making new enemies (or are they friends), and cheating death. She takes huge risks, and you learn more about her than you ever knew.

“Her salary as King’s Champion was considerable, and Celaena spent
every last copper of it. Shoes, hats, tunics, dresses, jewellery, weapons,
baubles for her hair, and books. Books and books and books. So many
books that Philippa had to bring up another bookcase for her room.”

– Sarah J Maas, Crown of Midnight

Sarah writes well, describing the characters perfectly in the first book. This still happens in this book, just at a lower quality. You learn more about the characters in this book than ever before, as secrets are unveiled. Also more dangerous plans of action come into play, and then the ending.

I bet you, no one will guess the ending. It’s crazy. A little whisper in someone’s ear, sets off a chain of events, which lead to the great secret being revealed.

“I’m just trying to figure out what’s so boring that you dozed off 10 minutes ago.”
She propped herself up onto her elbows. “I did not!”
His eyebrows rose. “I heard you snoring.”
“You’re a liar, Chaol Westfall.” She threw her paper at him at ploppedback on the couch. “I only closed my eyes for a minute.”
He shook his head again and went back to work.
Celaena blushed. “I didn’t really snore, did I?”
His face was utterly serious as he said, “Like a bear.”

– Sarah J Maas, Crown of Midnight

Now, another thing I love about these books are the covers. Does anyone else like the covers? They are awesome. I always find myself trying to pick the best one out of the three that I have, and it’s impossible. They’re all so good. I also have recently seen the new cover for book 4. And it’s great! I had been trying to guess what it would be like. What pose she would be in this time. I didn’t get it, but the cover of this one is amazing. I like especially how on the back, she’s in the same pose but in different clothing. Very cool…

“If they wanted Adarlan’s Assassin, they’d get her.
And Wyrd help them when she arrived.”

– Sarah J Maas, Crown of Midnight

Anyway, back to the story. I’m really not sure what could have made this book better. I just don’t like it as much. Maybe it’s just me. But I do hope that the next book is good. I have a feeling that I will not be let down.

Why should you read this book: This book is definitely for assassin fans, and for readers of the Angelfall trilogy, (in earlier reviews) the Blood of Eden series by Julie Kagawa, and the His Fair Assassin series. If you loved these books, then you’ll love this one.

Book in a word: nail-biting

Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

