Graceling – Kristen Cashore (Graceling Trilogy)

Title: Graceling

Author: Kristen CashoreGraceling

Genre: young adult, fiction, fantasy

Thoughts: This book was amazing! I had been looking for it for ages, since I saw it at Dymocks once at Christmas. If I’d known how much time it would take me to find it again, I would have bought it right there. But no, I didn’t, and so spent half the year looking in all the bookstores for this book. It actually turned out that it had been in all the Dymocks I had been to, and I had just been looking in the young adult section, instead of the fantasy. Arggh, so frustrating. But anyway, back to the story.

After all the looking for this book, I was a little afraid that it wouldn’t actually be that good. But I needn’t have worried. It definitely lived up to my expectations and more. Although the few starting chapters were a bit slow, action kicked in soon enough, and I couldn’t put it down. The characters were great, having certain characteristics I could relate to, and it was a great storyline. Seriously a great plot! I loved the whole idea of some people, Gracelings, being graced with certain abilities, for example everyday activities like swimming or running, or other things like survival, or mindreading. But instead of being honoured, these Gracelings are feared and cast away. This book is so amazing, I’d say that the author was graced with writing.

“Sit, Your High Majestic Lord Princes,” she said. She yanked a chair from the table and sat herself down.
“You’re in fine temper,” Raffin said.
“Your hair is blue,” Katsa snapped back.”
Kristin Cashore (Graceling (Graceling Realm, #1))

With people being graced with these things, the book has a fantasy genre to it. And I love fantasy, so I knew I’d like the idea of the story at least. But, I loved the characters as well. The main two characters, Katsa and Prince Po, are both graced with different things, but you don’t find out their real grace until halfway into the book. For Katsa, she actually believes her grace is something different, and for Po, you only find out what he is graced with in the middle. But this isn’t necessarily a cliff hanger, because you actually think you know their abilities as well. It’s more of a nice surprise.

The two characters, and also another secondary one, Princess Bitterblue, face many, many struggles, some of them relatable, some of them not. For example Katsa has always been the odd one out, and friendless. This is relatable to many people, and the way other people help her with this is good. They also face the force of Nature. Especially winter. This is also very relatable, but in the book, it’s a lot worse. Also, at the end of the book, we find out the Po has been struggling with a challenge for a while now, which actually made me cry. The thing I like about this bit, is the way that Katsa helps him, kind of in thanks for him helping her become friendlier.

“What are you grinning at?” Katsa demanded for the third or fourth time. “Is the ceiling about to cave in on my head or something? You look like we’re both on the verge of an enormous joke.”
“Katsa, only you would consider the collapse of the ceiling a good joke.”
Kristin Cashore (Graceling (Graceling Realm, #1))

I reckon there are only a couple of things wrong with the book, for one, the starting. It is a little slow, but if you are going to read it, (and you should) then push through this first part, and then enjoy the rest of the book. Second, is that sometimes I don’t like Katsa’s attitude toward things, and don’t agree with her decisions. Another thing that is annoying me, that isn’t actually about this book, is the two sequels, Fire, and Bitterblue. I have read the blurb, and then, to my surprise, found out that they may not be about the characters in Graceling, just set in the same world. I haven’t read them yet, so maybe they do feature them, but they aren’t the same characters. I liked the characters in Graceling, so we’ll see if this one is as good. I will hopefully be posting the Fire review soon.

Why should you read it: If you’re a young adult reader, and a fantasy fan, then definitely get your hands on this book. Also, if you like a strong female character book, like The Hunger Games, Poison study, or Throne of Glass, then you’ll like Katsa in this book

Book in a word: Intriguing

Rating: 7½/10

4 thoughts on “Graceling – Kristen Cashore (Graceling Trilogy)

Leave a Reply

