The Iron Trial – Cassandra Clare & Holly Black (The Magisterium)

Title: The Iron TrialThe Iron Trial

Author: Cassandra Clare & Holly Black

Genre: Fantasy, magic, fiction, adventure

Thoughts: I’d heard mixed reviews about this book before I read it, but as I’m going to meet the two authors of it (see here), I thought that I should read it anyway. And I am pleased to say that I liked it. I wanted to keep reading and reading it, and am curious to see what happens in the next two books.

After the intriguing prologue, this book is about young Callum Hunt, who is a mage. The story is set in a world where mages and magicians are accepted and looked up to, so this is not weird. He gets called to the Magisterium, to take a test which will determine whether he will go to school there. Everyone is excited and hoping to pass the text… not Call. He tries his best to fail, but fails at failing. As the story progresses, we discover the story of Call, and learn why he was so determined to fail the test.

“They all yelled in excitement. Tamara yelled because she was happy. Aaron yelled because he liked it when other people were happy, and Call yelled because he was sure they were going to die.”
― Cassandra ClareThe Iron Trial

Callum also forms some friends along his journey, and they embark on lots of different adventures around the Magisterium, like getting lost and encountering crazy, darkness-ridden animals. The Iron Trial has a few secrets, the main one being who is Callum? I started theorising about who and what he was, but was completely surprised when I found out.

“You don’t know what you are.”
― Holly BlackThe Iron Trial

There is also, like most books I read and like, a bit of funny dialogue. Some of which made me laugh or snort out loud.

“So it’s not as bad as it looks?” Call ventured. “Oh, no,” she told him. “It’s just as bad as it looks. But I’m very, very good at my job.”
― Holly BlackThe Iron Trial

Basically, it wasn’t the best book I’ve read, but it definitely wasn’t the worst. It was pretty good. It was a very easy read, and younger readers would probably like it. The main thing that let it down is probably the writing. It is a little simple, so I’m thinking that younger readers would definitely enjoy it more.

This book is a 5 book series, the second one being released on the 1st of September 2015 (same day as Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4!!)), and don’t forget, both Cassandra Clare and Holly black are discussing this book, and its series at the Brisbane Writers festival. For more info about that, click here.

Why should you read it? Like I said before, The Iron Trial is an easy read, so not just older readers should read this. Also, if you like magic or fantasy, or books like Percy Jackson, then you would probably like this.

Book in a word: Entrancing

Rating: 6½/10

Leave a Reply

