Library of Souls – Ransom Riggs

LibraryOfSouls_final_300dpi.jpgAuthor: Ransom Riggs

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, photography, Sci-fi, Historical fiction

Thoughts: Amazing, amazing, amazing! That’s what I thought of not just this book, but its entire series. I thought this was the perfect finish to this series, it tied everything up and was just super amazing. Library of Souls picked up right where the last book left off, which I really like about this series. It’s not like it skips a bit and then restarts – it could literally be the next chapter of the last book.

“It had become one of the defining truths of my life that, no matter how I tried to keep them flattened, two-dimensional, jailed in paper and ink, there would always be stories that refused to stay bound inside books. It was never just a story.”
― Ransom RiggsLibrary of Souls

This book definitely had a new and different feel about it than the other two. Not as eerie, I don’t think, and I’m not sure how to feel about it. I did like the creepiness of the last two books, and it may just be me getting used to all the information.

So, plot lines… I’ll just say, it starts with a bang. Still following our main character, Jacob learns more about his peculiarity, and we learn more about him. After this passes, it is still action packed. Something new and exciting happens basically every page. And now, for the climax. It had me on the edge of my seat, it was so nail-biting. Some twists and turns happen, a few new found friends, and some betrayals as well, all mix together to create one big ending for this series. It kept me reading, as I thought it was all resolved, and then something went wrong, and then they fixed that, and something went REALLY wrong, and then somehow, all the loose ends were tied up. I also really liked the ending of the book. A nice finish to this series

“An opportunist disguised as a friend can be every bit as dangerous as an outright enemy.”
― Ransom RiggsLibrary of Souls

Another reoccurring setting in the series is Victorian England, which I always find interesting to read about – and this time it was the slums (Devil’s Acre). The descriptions Riggs give are amazing, painting the picture right into my head. A lot of new information was included in this book, which was nice to learn. We discover more about the time loops, including the infamous ‘panloopticon’. It was a nice touch, using the original idea of a panopticon, (A building, where all residents can be observed by a single person, without them knowing they are being watched)

“There was, in fact, a street sign to that effect—the first I’d seen in all of Devil’s Acre. Louche Lane, it read in fancy handwritten script. Piracy discouraged.
“Discouraged?” I said. “Then what’s murder? Frowned upon?”
“I believe murder is ‘tolerated with reservations.’ ”

― Ransom RiggsLibrary of Souls

One significant factor I did miss in this novel was the original set of peculiar characters. I loved all their relationships, and it’s nice when all is resolved. Also, for a lot of the last two books, Miss Peregrine herself has not been present, which I find a little annoying just because I like her so much. I believe she may be my favourite character (she’s just so quirky and intense, and just altogether awesome!!) We did meet a few more characters, including some more peculiars, and the new ‘bad guys’. A certain boatman named Charon was a nice little touch, using a bit of Greek Mythology, which is one of my favourite things to read about.

And last thing, the photos. I think the entire series has used them very effectively, especially the first book, but this book was definitely not a let down. I like the ones depicting peculiar children the most. Basically, I think this should be the next ‘big’ series – it’s that good. I loved the characters, the setting, and the genre. It was a fantasy book mixed with a bit of sci-fi – my favourite! It also ended well. Everything was resolved perfectly and it was the perfect ending for a perfect series.

Why you should read it: I think I’ve already mentioned everything there is to love about this book. Basically, if you’re a fantasy reader, enjoy sci-fi, or are just looking for a relatively short young adult series, this should be the thing you pick up.

Rating:    star_rating_4-5_of_5

2 thoughts on “Library of Souls – Ransom Riggs

Leave a Reply

