The Rain – Virginia Bergin

Author: Virginia Bergin

Genre: pthe-rainost-apocalyptic, young adult, science fiction

It’s in the rain…and just one drop will kill you.

They don’t believe it at first. Crowded in Zach’s kitchen, Ruby and the rest of the partygoers laugh at Zach’s parents’ frenzied push to get them all inside as it starts to drizzle. But then the radio comes on with the warning, “It’s in the rain! It’s fatal, it’s contagious, and there’s no cure.”

Two weeks later, Ruby is alone. Anyone who’s been touched by rain or washed their hands with tap water is dead. The only drinkable water is quickly running out. Ruby’s only chance for survival is a treacherous hike across the country to find her father-if he’s even still alive.

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21116887-the-rain


Thoughts: The Rain: Just one drop will kill you. Quite an interesting subtitle if you ask me. I didn’t really put much thought into this book when I first started reading it, (I know, it sounds bad) but after the first chapter, I was quite interested. By about halfway through, I was really getting into it, and could not put it down. The author, Virginia Bergin, wrote her novel in a very specific way, that I found myself enjoying. It made it fun to read, and very engaging.

The language and story line, while a little dark in some places, was quite informal and funny, and the narrator was super sarcastic all the time. I think that’s what made it different from every other post-apocalyptic, young adult novel. 

“The rain—” That’s all I remember hearing to begin with. “It’s in the rain,” and everyone staring at the radio as if it was a TV.”
― Virginia Bergin

I don’t know how she managed to do it, but Virginia Bergin also captured my attention so well, that a couple of times, I thought that the story was real life, and I had to keep checking if it was raining. Whether it was using descriptive words, or just creating a story that can get readers involved, it was definitely a book that was hard to put down

I will say one thing, even if it’s not necessarily a negative, and that is, even under all the sarcastic humour from the narrator, some scenes still gave me the shivers, not because of the ‘scariness’ that was happening to her, but because the world wasn’t too different from our own. Meaning, that if some terrible disaster happened to Earth, we would be in the exact same position.

Why should you read it: Generalising the book, if you like a post-apocalyptic story, with a strong female lead, doubled with some very sarcastic narration, you will love this book.

Rating:     star_rating_3-5_of_5  

Leave a Reply

