Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!

Well, well, well… There goes another year. I say it every year, but wow, time does fly. I kicked off the year with sadly, not a lot of reading, but it was because of a good cause. On holiday, there is very little time to pick up a book, and being overseas most definitely did not help. But, of course, being a bookworm I am, I started as soon as I could.

So, with 2016 just about over, let’s look back at some highlights:


wand picking.jpg

“The wand chooses the wizard, Mr Potter…” – Mr Ollivander

Having the opportunity to see the Warner Bros. Wizarding World of Harry Potter, will always be one of the favourite memories. While there, I was able to purchase my very own wand.


IMG_2827.jpg

Still overseas, while in Italy, it was hard to find books written in English. Well, here I am, after we finally spied a little store, housing a box full of them.


IMG_9276_web.jpg

I finally got to see it!! I know, it’s not related to books, but it was too big of a thing to not share – because, come one, it’s the Eiffel Tower.


lifeline-bookfest

img_2372

Next exciting thing of the year – Lifeline Bookfest!! I go to at least one of these a year, usually more. (in fact there’s one coming up on Jan 14-26. YAY) This one would’ve had to been the biggest haul yet though, with the spoils of the day coming to 90 new books.


IMG_2373.JPG

On the 6th September 2015, I met the wonderful Cassandra Clare, meaning I had the 1 year anniversary this year. She’s so awesome!!


 

supanova

Again, this isn’t directly related to books, but Supanova was just too awesome!! I went with my group of Whovian friends, to meet the amazing Dr Who star Michelle Gomez, but everything there was awesome. I’ve never seen so many people cosplaying, or just generally interested in all the different things, and fandoms that I like.


fantastic beasts.jpg

And, last, but certainly not the least important, was the release of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. I’m sure all Harry Potter fans, myself included, were thrilled to see this ‘textbook’ become not just an amazing movie (which I saw twice, and absolutely LOVED), but the start of the next series.


So, as you can see, it has been a pretty awesome year for me, and I hope everyone else has had one just as great. I must say, I did not get as much reading done as I’d hoped, but it has most definitely become a new year’s resolution – READ MORE BOOKS!! I hope everyone has had a wonderful year, had a Merry, Merry Christmas, and happy new year to everyone!!

IMG_2374.JPGThe Christmas book haul for this year, including two Dr Who books, the first two novels from Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series, a cool looking book, Literary wonderlands, by Laura Miller, and Footnotes from the world’s greatest bookstores by Bob Eckstein.

3 thoughts on “Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

