Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles #1)

Author: Gena Showalteralice in zombieland.jpg

Pages: 404

Genre: Young Adult, Zombie, horror, fantasy, paranormal

She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

If anyone had told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real.

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies.

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11300302-alice-in-zombieland


Thoughts: So, first review for the year, and I’m starting off with zombies. I’ve never actually been a fan of zombie stories, but was persuaded to try this one, and did enjoy it. I think it’s because the story is about more than just zombies. When I first started it, it did take a little time for me to really get into it, but once Ali (Alice) met the rest of the main characters, I literally could not put it down. Most books, it takes me a few minutes to kind of ‘submerge’ myself back into the story, and then people have to yell to get my attention. For Alice in Zombieland the minute I picked it back up, I was back in La-La-Zombieland.

“I looked around, counting the competition. Sixteen. To win, all I had to do was incapacitate each one, place my hand over their hearts and turn my palm into a flame. Easy.
Yeah right.”
― Gena ShowalterAlice in Zombieland

The two things that really stick out to me after reading it, are both the characters and their sarcasm, and the fast paced storyline. It’s written in Ali’s point of view, and she is forever making snarky little comments about everything (and everyone) around her. Then there’s Kat, who would have to be my favourite character by far, just because of her dialogue. It’s hilarious!! Also, the adults and how they interact with the main group of teens, (especially Ali’s grandparents) are funny as well.

“I’m not trying to—What do teenagers say nowadays?” he asked my grandmother. “Get all up in her biznez,” Nana said. Without cracking a smile. “That’s right,” he replied. “We’re not trying to get all up in your biznez, Ali.”
― Gena ShowalterAlice in Zombieland

On to storyline, and like I said before, there is not a boring moment, apart from the first few chapters at the start. And while this was exciting, and made it a great book for me to read at the time, now that I think about it, there is almost too much going on. Which, I guess, is good for people looking for a fast, young adult story, which I was at the time, but if you aren’t, then it might seem a little silly to you. The characters a little too unrealistic, and their little zombie-killing organisation a bit unconvincing.

And one last thing that confused and frustrated me, was the title. Yes, the main character’s name is Alice, but does she meet interesting people and go on an adventure through a mystical land…? Nope, not at all.

But, let’s not get too negative, because it was a good book, with some very nice aspects as well. There is more in the series, so I’ll read them as soon as possible, and who knows, maybe the Alice in Wonderland theme will make more sense.

Why should you read it: So, it’s not my favourite book, but I did enjoy reading it, and if you enjoy the usual young adult genre, then you’ll like it too. It’s not a deep book, but nice for just some fun, light reading. Just keep in mind, it’s not got anything really, to do with Alice in Wonderland.

Rating:star_rating_3_of_5

Leave a Reply

