Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)

Author: Leigh Bardugo crooked-kingdom

Pages: 536

Genre: young adult, adventure, fantasy

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.


Thoughts:  Well, well, where to start? Again, another masterpiece from Leigh Bardugo, with a little bit of everything I love, all in one book. I don’t know if it’s better than Six of Crows. I can’t decide. Pretty sure that I liked the story behind the first book better than this one, as Crooked Kingdom was a little more focussed on the characters. But then I absolutely loved reading about the characters, so really can’t make up my mind on that one.

Okay, so as I mentioned before, Crooked Kingdom is a bit more about the characters than the first book. Each chapter is from a different character’s perspective again, and I really love seeing the story from different views. And then this caused me to fall in love with them all over again. I have no idea how people who read Six of Crows before this one came out coped, because I was just about ready to burst, and I only waited a day. It’s just one of those novels where you love everyone, and can’t wait to read more about them.

“I would have come for you. And if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, and no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together-knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do. We never stop fighting.”
― Leigh BardugoCrooked Kingdom

This book seriously kept me on the edge of my seat the entire way through. I don’t think there is actually a dull moment during this entire series, which is just wonderful. Action scenes, planning scenes (which could be just as exciting as the action scenes, somehow), revenge being taken, character development, and then the twists and turns as well. The plot just seemed to build up as the book went further along. Six of Crows ends on a sort of cliff-hanger, and then, I thought Crooked Kingdom was just fixing this complication. But no. This particular problem was resolved in just about the first quarter of the book, leaving the rest for some more amazing writing.

“Has anyone noticed this whole city is looking for us, mad at us, or wants to kill us?”
“So?” said Kaz.
“Well, usually it’s just half the city.”
― Leigh BardugoCrooked Kingdom

Of course, it’s again full of the hilarious banter between everyone, and so much sarcasm!! I loved every minute of it. It’s just so fun and you really feel like you’re in the book with everyone. When this happens, I say it’s a good book, because the author has obviously created a world that fits so well into my head that I can sort of live in it myself. One point to also touch on, is character development. For people who have read the book, you’ll know what I mean when I say it happened for Kaz and Inej, and Matthias as well. Even Wylan has progressed, and it’s nice to see so much of it happening in just the two books. For people who haven’t read it, these are the lovely people you will meet on your Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom adventure. I’d be looking forward to it if I were you.

“Where do you think the money went?” he repeated.
“Guns?” asked Jesper.
“Ships?” queried Inej.
“Bombs?” suggested Wylan.
“Political bribes?” offered Nina. They all looked at Matthias. “This is where you tell us how awful we are,” she whispered.
He shrugged. “They all seem like practical choices.”
― Leigh BardugoCrooked Kingdom

I know it does seem like this review was basically me rambling on about how good this book was, but I don’t think I can pick out anything bad about it. It’s not a deep book with lots of talk of ethics and morals, or an emotional contemporary novel, but it’s not meant to be. While both of those styles could be considered a better quality of book, I’m not going to judge a young adult fantasy, series on those criteria. So, I’m pretty sure this series was basically perfect, and it is most definitely one of my favourites. I just wish there was another book (or ten) so I can hear from the characters again, see what they’re doing, how they’re feeling. Obviously, I have become slightly obsessed. Time to distract myself with another book…

Rating: 5-start

Leave a Reply

