April Wrap Up

Hello Bookworms!! I hope you’re all well. It’s been a bit of a busy month for me, with school, assignments, and dancing eisteddfods, not leaving time for much else. During April, I didn’t read too much, which is disappointing, but there was quite a haul of both books, and pop vinyl figures. I also went and saw Beauty and the Beast which was amazing! What did everyone else think of it?

Now, the only books that I read in April were these three. I’m still going on the Goldfinch, but not because it’s slow or boring. It’s just there’s a lot of information to take in, and it doesn’t have a storyline that hooks you. For anyone else who has read it, you’ll understand that it’s more of a literary book, with amazing language, and to appreciate it properly, you have to read it slow. Other than that, I really enjoyed Caraval, (review on the link), and Fantastic Beasts was great as well. I’ll hopefully be posting reviews for both Fantastic Beasts and The Goldfinch soon.

  • Caraval
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them
  • The Goldfinch (almost finished)

 

For the haul, I bought or received eight books this month, which is quite a haul for me. And I’m really looking forward to some of them! Once I finish The Goldfinch, I’m going to have a hard time picking which one to read first. Hopefully I can read a bit more in May, so I can get through more books. Also the Beauty and the Beast book is SO BEAUTIFUL! It’s amazing, and even has interactive illustrations inside.

  • Caraval – Stephanie Garber
  • The End – Lemony Snicket
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – J. K. Rowling
  • The Beauty and the Beast – Gabrielle-Suzanne Barbot de Villeneuve
  • And I darken – Kiersten White
  • All the Light we cannot see – Anthony Doerr
  • The Pirate Planet – Douglas Adams
  • The DC Comics Encyclopaedia – Daniel Wallace & Scott Beatty

 

What an exciting list! I’m going to have to slowly work my way through them, which is going to be hard with all these amazing new books being released as well! So many books, so little time!! It’s a very real issue. I’m going to be listing the books that were released in April this time, because they’re so much easier to find books. And, because they’ve already been released, I can have a chance to pick the well-reviewed ones. So, in April there were:

  • Legion – Julie Kagawa (Talon #4)
    • I really enjoy Kagawa’s books, including the Iron Fey, and her Immortal Rules series, but what annoys me is her tendency to take forever to release the next book in a series!! So, finally, here is number 4 in her Talon series. If you like young adult, mixed with fantasy and dragons, you’ll like this one.
  • Spindle Fire – Lexa Hillyer
    • This book is going to be a new retelling of Cinderella, and it sounds really, really interesting. It’s also got some very high reviews on Goodreads, so it should be pretty good
  • Red Sister – Mark Lawrence
    • This one’s second on the Goodreads list for released in April, and people are really loving it. I want to check it out, and if anyone’s read it, be sure to tell me how you found it!
  • Defy the Stars – Claudia Gray
    • This one’s like a science fiction, fantasy mixture that’s set in space, in the future, but sounds like it has some pretty cool ideas in it. I might read this soon…
  • The Upside of Unrequited – Becky Albertalli
    • This is a new contemporary book that was featured in multiple book boxes, which is probably how it got its name. And the review everywhere all say it’s amazing, breaking the rules of the usual book, discussing issues not really touched on, and including minority groups as the main characters.

Phew! Long post! I’ll be reviewing The Goldfinch soon, and be on the lookout for more posts in May. Lots of books to read 🙂 . It makes me happy. Keep reading!

~~Isis~~

Leave a Reply

