May Wrap Up

FullSizeRender 43

Hello again!! Winter is here, for me in Australia, and I am so looking forward to the holidays!! Not just because I get rid of all these assignments and exams, but because then I can curl up with a cuppa, possibly a cat, and READ!! I’m also going skiing in the holidays, which is going to be lots of fun, but we’ll talk about that another time. For today, I bring you my May Wrap-up!!

I actually can not believe that we are already in June. This is crazy! In terms of books, how did everyone go? I’m quite proud of my readings this month, myself finishing a total of 7 books:

The Goldfinch: Finally, finally, got to the last page of this book, and even though it took me forever, I’d say it was worth it. The language was a masterpiece, though the plot, at times, was a bit tiresome.

And I Darken: I received this book for Easter (an awesome Easter present, I know!), and had heard some pretty good things about it. I also, really, really enjoyed it. It’s almost like a retelling of Vlad the Impaler, with certain elements mixed up and switched around.

Defy the Stars: Oh, this book. I loved it. Could not put it down, but I don’t know why either. There are obvious parts where it’s not the best, but I fell in love with the characters and how they interacted, straight away. I think that’s why I loved it so much.

Shadow and Bone: And onto the Grisha Trilogy I went. Bit late in reading this, and I read Six of Crows beforehand, so that’s a bit backwards, but it was still enjoyable. Nowhere near as good as Six of Crows (for me anyway), but still a very good book and story.

Siege and Storm: This one is my least favourite of the Grisha books, but in saying that, it’s still not bad. I feel like there wasn’t a lot happening in this one, whereas in the other two, lots of action took place.

Ruin and Rising: Another awesome book from Leigh Bardugo! I think my favourite of the Grisha books is Shadow and Bone, but this isn’t too far behind. This whole series is a must read for anyone who likes young adult, or fantasy.

A Monster Calls: This one’s by Patrick Ness, and although I’d heard about it, it wasn’t on my TBR list. It was only because I saw it at the library that I decided to try it, and see what it was all about. And I’m telling you, if it isn’t already, put this on your reading list!! Written for a younger audience, this is still a very powerful book, with so many lessons, and so much emotion, all wrapped up in a clever story!! I loved it, from first page, until the end.

Talon: I didn’t finish this one in May, but I’m halfway through, so I’m going to include it anyway. After Legion’s (Talon #4) release, I decided to re-read the entire series, as I’d kinda forgotten what happened in each one.


Onto the Haul!! May wasn’t too big of a month for buying books, but I just heard some very exciting information. The Lifeline Bookfest is coming back in June!!! Yay!! I absolutely love going, and we usually get lots and lots and lots of books every time. I think it may be time for a shelf-rearrange…

May Haul:

  • Shadow and Bone
  • Siege and Storm
  • Ruin and Rising
  • Legion

I’ve already read most of those ones, only got Legion to go. It looks like I’m going to have to buy some more books soon… Mwa ha ha… There were lots of big releases in May, so I’m going to list a few. No. 1, I still haven’t read, but it was the most anticipated, so I’d better put it up:

  • A Court of Wings and Ruin – Sarah J. Maas
    • This is the one everyone’s been waiting for. Finally it’s here, and I’m yet to start the series. I’ll get to it eventually, but apparently, it is very good, (It is Sarah J. Maas, what can I say?) so if you haven’t heard of it, I recommend checking it out
  • Flame in the Mist – Renee Ahdieh
    • Author of The Wrath and the Dawn, Renee Ahdieh released this one in May, and people are loving it. It’s one of the highest ranking books released in May, which is saying something because there are lots of big ones.
  • Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2) – Cassandra Clare
    • And it’s here!! I loved Lady Midnight, more than I thought I would, and after finishing, immediately needed the next one. I think I might do another re-read, and then go onto this one.
  • The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of Apollo #2) – Rick Riordan
    • Any Rick Riordan fans out there?? Not many people I know read his books anymore, but I still enjoy their fast-paced energy and humour. I haven’t started the Trials of Apollo yet, as I’m waiting for them all to come out first (Riordan has a tendency to finish books on cliffhangers… *cough, cough* Mark of Athena *cough, cough*)

All finished for May, so let’s get on with June. I would like to read Lord of Shadows this month, and possible All the Light we Cannot See, but we’ll see. What are you reading?? Have any thoughts on the books I’ve mentioned above?? Don’t be afraid to comment your ideas and thoughts below!!

 

Leave a Reply

