Book Review – Strange The Dreamer

Quick Facts!new-release-date-2.jpg

Title: Strange the Dreamer

Author: Laini Taylor

Genre: Fantasy, fiction, romance, magic, YA

Pages: 544

First Published: March 2017


5-start

My Review:

I don’t believe I can fault this book. It was that good. Seriously, it blew my mind, how I could not find a single thing wrong with it. Usually, I am quite harsh with my reviews, but this book… It was so good. Great. Amazing. Spectacular! And the cover is gorgeous as well.

So. We have two main characters; Lazlo and Sarai, though there are many others that are just as good. The book is told through both their perspectives, and I loved the way they mirrored each other. There was never a time when I wanted to skip this chapter, and just move back to the other one’s POV. No. They told the exact amount that was needed to be able to finish the chapter. So that was good.

Another biggie: Characters and world building. Oh they were amazing! Taylor wrote the characters so perfectly, that each of their feelings and emotions and actions felt justified and done with good reason. She shows us enough bask-story, that one little action taken by this one little character, elicits sympathy for them, while another action taken by another character makes us hate them. They didn’t seem real, but to be fair, some of them were blue-skinned goddesses living in the sky. You’d have to be a terrific author to make that seem real. There was no over-doing it, and no under-doing it. It was just perfect. That was the other thing. You know how in some books, there’s just too much description, and not enough action (or vice versa)? And while the description is good, great even, it just needs more? Strange the Dreamer was not like that at all. World building was awesome, and there was a plot. Characters looked good, but also had feelings. It was just so well balanced!

Okay. Time for the big reason. Storyline. I don’t know where this idea came from, and have no idea how it could occur to any normal person, but the plot was amazing. And original for once! It’s quite rare that you read a story and have never read anything like it before. It was such a good idea. The many aspects occurring all at once made it seem much more 3D, and the ending… it killed me, but it was right at the same time. And of course made me want the next book RIGHT NOW. Please. I need it. I wasn’t sure how it was going to end, and was re-assuring myself that it couldn’t be too bad because there was a second book, when BAM! Ending. In my face. The last chapter was written so well and cleverly that it concluded the book, opened up a path for the next one, and again drove home the defining features of all the characters. (One in particular I now hate even more 😦 )

If I had to find one teensy-weensy little problem, I would say that it took a little while to get into the story. I wasn’t addicted to it at first, as much as I was at the end. But that doesn’t really matter. All books are like that. Another thing I really really like are the titles, both Book 1, and Book 2. The two main characters Lazlo and Sarai, will hopefully continue into the second book, and so the titles are mirroring them. Strange the Dreamer, is Lazlo’s other name, and the second book, titled Muse of Nightmares, is Sarai’s nickname. I don’t know why, I just find that really nice. Just the contrast between the two, dreamer, and nightmares. Again, the two characters are mirroring each other.

“It was impossible, of course. But when did that ever stop any dreamer from dreaming.”
Laini TaylorStrange the Dreamer


Leave a Reply

